The department’s faculty is proud of all of our students. Of course, some of them distinguish themselves through some form of extra accomplishment, such as earning high grades that result in high GPAs. We are pleased to recognize the following students who earned prestigious awards this semester.

UNG held its Honors Banquet on Tuesday, April _. Dr. Dlynn Armstrong‑Williams, department head, recognized two students with these awards:

● The Frank M. Smith Award for the highest GPA in political science, awarded to John Emory Dooley.

● The David Potter Award for the highest GPA in international affairs, awarded to Jonathan Chase Strickland.

Two other awards presented at the Honors Banquet were:

● Darrelyn Thomas received the Simone de Beauvoir Award, the highest honor granted by the Gender Studies Council annually to the top student project exploring gender scholarship across all disciplines. Darrelyn’s paper is titled “Promoting Women’s Representation Through Gender Quotas.”

● William Tyler Moseley, an M.P.A. student, received the Mary Eliza Hood Award. Three Hood Awards are presented annually to the male and female undergraduates and the graduate student who have received the most points in the determination of eligibility for recognition in Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges.

At the April 3 initiation ceremony for the Omicron Delta Kappa leadership honor society, four political-science students were initiated. They are Erica Barker, Scott Jackson, William Tyler Moseley, and Lacie Warren. Political-science student Abigail E. Word has been the president of UNG’s ΟΔΚ “circle” (chapter) this year. Erica will be the circle’s president for 2015‑2016. Political-science professors Beth M. Rauhaus and Barry D. Friedman are the circle’s faculty advisor and faculty secretary, respectively.

Also on April 3, Dr. Charles H. “Trey” Wilson III, faculty advisor of our chapter of the Pi Sigma Alpha political-science honor society, initiated these members:

Lindsey Autrey
Erica Barker
Emily Billingsley
Stephanie Bishop
Stephen Boykin
Jesslyn Chastain
Madeline Cornett
Ryan Deits
Cody Dewald
Dillon Daigneault
Elizabeth DeWaard
John Emory Dooley
Reagan Griggs
Leland Hansen
Nathaniel Harvey
Leslie Hebert
Timothy Henesy
Donald Herron
Scott Jackson
Raven‑Danielle Journeay
Luke Lail
Jeremy Martin
Caroline Moore
William Tyler Moseley
Benjamin Perkins
William Putt
Elise Riquier
Patricia Sánchez
John Schellman
Richard Shannon
Austin Terry
Jordan Thrun
Riley Tidwell
Caroline Tulka
Lacie Warren
Rachel Yarger

We also congratulate Thomas J. “TJ” Carlisle, a December 2014 graduate, who was honored by the Florida City/County Managers Association with the Emerging Leader Award.