UNG’s Model United Nations team participated in the Southeast Regional Model United Nations (SRMUN) Charlotte conference on March 24-26, 2022. This year marked the conference’s 10th anniversary and was based around the central theme of “Reconciling the Past and Restoring Multilateral Partnerships for the Future.”

The three-day event brought together more than 400 students from over 30 colleges and universities from across the country to simulate diplomacy at the United Nations. SRMUN student delegates represented 60 countries and worked diligently to prepare in the months leading up to the conference. Our PSIA students began researching and writing their country positions as they returned to campus in January and practiced public speaking exercises and diplomatic speaking as they completed delegate preparations.

UNG’s Model UN club has participated in Model United Nations since 2014 and competes at two to three conferences annually. The club also hosts an on-campus conference each spring to offer UNG students the opportunity to experience being a student delegate close to home.

UNG’s Model UN students continued their 2021-22 Academic Year hot streak of awards begun last fall at SRMUN Atlanta, bringing back three from Charlotte:
– One conference-wide position paper writing award for the “Chile” delegation.
– Highest overall paper for the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (Nathanael Hines & Avery Johnson).
– Highest overall paper for the International Law Commission (Jacob Tighe).


The Republic of Chile (L-R):
Jenna Patterson (DAH | MAIA, undergrad PS); Jacob Tighe (DAH | IA/East Asia); Nathanael Hines (GVL | pre-Law); Bryan Guandique (DAH | Strategic & Security Studies/Intel); Avery Johnson (DAH | IA/Europe); Anna Caitlyn “AC” Anderson (DAH | pre-Law).
Not Pictured: Norma Martinez (GVL | PS)

The Republic of Turkey (L-R):
Jessica Case (GVL | pre-Law); Mark Cordovado (DAH | IA/Europe); Mohini Devadath (DAH | IA/Europe).
Not pictured: Cody “Buster” Chambers (GVL | PS); Jelma Flores-Mota (GVL | pre-Law); Guyline Malala (GVL | PS); Stephanie Garcia Medina (GVL | PS)