Record 31 cadets honored as Distinguished Military Students

UNG’s Boar’s Head Brigade honored a record 31 members of the Corps of Cadets at the 2019 Distinguished Military Students (DMS) Review held Sept. 29, breaking the previous mark of 25 during the 2016-17 school year.

The annual review recognizes senior ROTC cadets who have excelled academically and as leaders.

To be selected, a cadet must be in the upper half of the academic class, the upper third of the ROTC class, and the upper third of UNG’s Order of Merit List, established by the professor of military science. Additionally, cadets are chosen on the basis of interest and aptitude for military service and outstanding qualities of leadership and high moral character as demonstrated by participation and achievement in campus, civic and military activities.

This year’s DMS honorees were: John Henry Belser, Khalil Benjamin Watkins, Brandon Brooks, Eric Carbone, Nina Carter, Alexander Chastain, Alejandro Davila, Jacob Drobney, Isaiah Fleck, Holden Gossett, Nathan Hicks, Jarrett Hutchens, Cody Kendrix, Marc Lacroix, Dylan Lanting, Gabriel Liranzo, Slade McMichael, Benjamin Middleton, Jacob Mizell, Tristan Moran, Bryan Morton, Joshua Nixon, William Norman, John Perry, Megan Reis, William Scaggs, Jericho Searcy, Brandon Thurmond, Micaela Tierce, James Warren, and Parrish West.