Class notes




Lawrence (Larry) Young, ’64, is the 2018 recipient of the Sen. William Proxmire (Wisconsin) Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is given by the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers for many years of distinguished accomplishments and contributions to the practice of consumer financial services law.



John C. Prosch, ’80 and ’82, was recognized in March for 35 years of active service to the federal government. He is a program manager at the Pentagon in the Department of the Army’s G8 staff. Prior to joining civil service, he served 20 years of active duty in the Army, medically retiring in 1998 from combat related injuries in Desert Storm and Somalia. Prosch is also a life member of the UNG Alumni Association.



Rep. Kevin Tanner, ’95, received the Georgia Chamber’s House Legislator of the Year Award. As chairman of the House Transportation Committee, Tanner, R-Dawsonville, Georgia, spearheaded passage of a bill creating a regional transit agency for metro Atlanta and setting up a process for metro counties to propose to their voter’s sales tax increases to finance transit projects in their communities.


Col. Josh Fulmer, ’96, is relocating to Fort Gordon near Augusta, Georgia, where he will transition into a brigadier commander in charge of more than 1,000 soldiers and civilian employees. He graduated from Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, in 2008 and received a Master in Business Administration from Benedictine College. He works at the Pentagon as an intelligence officer for the Department of Army Senior Intelligence. Prior to serving at the Pentagon, Fulmer spent two years of study at the Eisenhower School for National Security and Resource Strategy.



Scott Justus, ’00, has been appointed by Gov. Nathan Deal to the Georgia Public Telecommunications Commission Board. He is the assistant superintendent of White County Schools and has more than two decades of experience in education as a teacher, coach, assistant principal, athletic director, and principal in Hall County. Justus earned a bachelor’s degree in health and physical education from Georgia Southwestern State University, a master’s degree in health and physical education from UNG, and a specialist degree in leadership from Lincoln Memorial University.
Andrew Ainslie III, ’02, vice president and commercial lender at the Bank of Madison, has been elected by his peers in the state as president-elect of the Leadership Georgia Bankers Association (GBA) Executive Committee. Ainslie was in the Corps of Cadets at UNG, where he received his bachelor’s degree in finance in 2002. He is also a 2005 graduate of GBA’s Georgia Banking School in Athens, Georgia.


Mike Wood, ’05, is set to be the next prosecuting attorney in Lincoln County, Missouri. He began his college career on an academic scholarship at UNG. After earning his law degree at the University of Tulsa, Wood served as assistant prosecutor in Lincoln County.
Dr. Zach Balest, ’08, recently completed his ophthalmology residency at Emory University and has joined the staff of Gainesville Eye Associates. He will handle cataract and refractive surgery, medical and surgical management of glaucoma and diabetic eye care. A graduate of UNG with a Bachelor of Science degree, he is a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and Georgia Society of Ophthalmology.



Krista Buchanan, ’16, has been selected as one of 24 Woodrow Wilson Georgia Teaching Fellows for 2018 by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation. The highly competitive program recruits recent graduates and career changers with strong backgrounds in science, technology, engineering, and math and prepares them specifically to teach in high-need secondary schools. Buchanan received a Bachelor of Science degree from UNG and is currently pursuing her master’s degree at Mercer University.

Greg Thompson, ’16, was named the new assistant principal for Morgan County High School. Thompson has a 20-year education career, with 14 years in Morgan County. He was awarded an Ed.S. in leadership from Georgia College and State University (GCSU) in July 2018, earned a master’s degree in education from UNG and bachelor’s degrees in psychology and health and physical education from GCSU.


Aneta Galazka, ’18, has been selected as one of 24 Woodrow Wilson Georgia Teaching Fellows for 2018 by The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation. Each fellow receives $30,000 to complete a specially designed, cutting-edge master’s degree program based on a yearlong classroom experience. Galazka is currently pursuing her master’s degree at Georgia State University.